Tech Thursday: Legacy Media Preservation Test 2

Continuing the project I began with my last post, yesterday I took a few samples of 3.5″ floppies from the Westheimer Literary papers in the hopes of imaging and preserving their data. This time, I was working with our new intern, Clair. Clair is working on the Baker College records, and she had a stack of floppies and CDs that needed some attention, so this was a good time to train her with using Bitcurator. As I expected, things did not proceed as smoothly with the 3.5″ floppies.

IMG_1171

IMG_1172

We used a USB supported iomega floppy drive. None of the Westheimer discs were readable, and I was worried the problem might be the reader, but then one from the Baker College records still worked!

IMG_1173

Westheimer floppies did not mount

IMG_1178

With Clair in the driver seat, we imaged the disc, extracted metadata, and compiled the reports. The disc contained a readable doc file, a College Master’s reflection on the responsibilities and pleasures of his job.

IMG_1177

Summary: the plug-and-play iomega floppy drive works, and Bitcurator did a great job with imaging the disc.

 

Leave a comment